Mar 19 2018

Weekly Book Giveaway: Tricks for Free, by Seanan McGuire

This week's Book Giveaway is Tricks For Free, the seventh book in Seanan McGuire's wildly entertaining InCryptid series. After a brief but welcome detour into non-sexy cover art, my mother will be disappointed to see that the cover model is back to a bulging, ripped tank-top, but one cannot have everything...

More »

Mar 16 2018

To be expected

2018-03-16-to-be-expected

I missed this news last month (and I was definitely happier for it): according to Publishers Weekly, the Trump administration has once again proposed "the permanent elimination of the National Endowments for the Arts and Humanities, as...

More »

Mar 15 2018

The thin line between gossip and news

2018-03-15-the-thin-line-between-gossip-and-news

According to Deadline, David A. Neuman’s Blackrock Productions wants to turn Ryan Holiday’s new book Conspiracy–Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker and the Anatomy of Intrigue into a movie or miniseries. The book covers the legal battle that lead to Gawker's dissolution: one involving a Hulk Hogan sex tape, a vengeful billionaire, and...

More »

Mar 14 2018

Nope!

2018-03-14-nope

The official teaser trailer is out for Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, and once again it looks great. Unfortunately, these movies seem more worried about aesthetics than storytelling—and the filmmakers' (and Rowling's) insistence...

More »

Mar 13 2018

From page to screen

2018-03-13-from-page-to-screen

Pajiba recently posted an article about the various book-related movie projects being produced by Reese Witherspoon. It's quite a list, ranging from Celeste Ng’s Little Fires Everywhere to S.J. Watson's Second Life. Not all of Witherspoon's choices appeal to me, but...

More »

Mar 13 2018

Scifi fairytales

2018-03-13-scifi-fairytales

And speaking of Persuasion, I'm interested in this upcoming film starring Ciaran Hinds. Elizabeth Harvest appears to be a sci-fi take on the Bluebeard story with a little Rebecca thrown in, and despite my reservations about that poster art...

More »

Mar 12 2018

Persuasion (Modern Library Edition), by Jane Austen

2018-03-12-persuasion-modern-library-edition-by-jane-austen

As longtime readers of the site know, every few months I indulge myself by reviewing specific editions of Jane Austen's novels. These are not meant to be reviews of the stories (hot take: Austen's books are great! You should totally read 'em!), they are reviews of the supplementary materials included by various publishers. I am a raging nerd, so...

More »

Mar 12 2018

Weekly Book Giveaway: Persuasion (Modern Library Edition), by Jane Austen

2018-03-12-weekly-book-giveaway-persuasion-modern-library-edition-by-jane-austen

This week's Book Giveaway is the 2001 Modern Library edition of Jane Austen's Persuasion. I'm only a few pages in, but I'm already irritated by the foreword, so brace yourselves for a lot of very nerd-specific ranting. Our review will be posted shortly...

More »

Mar 9 2018

It's lurking

2018-03-09-its-lurking

The trailer is out for Disney's live-action film Christopher Robin. I'm sure it will be very affecting and make a bazillion dollars, but I'd feel more enthusiastic about it if my first reaction wasn't: 'DEMON BEAR!' Seriously...

More »

Mar 8 2018

My people

2018-03-08-my-people

Slate recently featured an excerpt from Ted Scheinman's Camp Austen: My Life as an Accidental Jane Austen Superfan. It's sweet, if a little dorky, and definitely makes me want to go to an Austen convention one day—I'm not doing any dressing up or dancing, but I definitely...

More »

Mar 7 2018

Not the book I would have chosen to have a lot of merch tie-ins

2018-03-07-not-the-book-i-would-have-chosen-to-have-a-lot-of-merch-tieins

The jewelry makers at Alex and Ani have released a collection inspired by Disney's upcoming A Wrinkle in Time film. I'm not sure how many people would recognize these pieces as being related to the story—they mostly feature generic-sounding inspirational quotes—but...

More »

Mar 6 2018

Lin-Manuel... and friends

2018-03-06-linmanuel-and-friends

The teaser trailer is out for Disney's upcoming Mary Poppins reboot, and no matter how you felt about the original (personally, I avoid it), you gotta give credit to the mouse for common sense: the first character you see is Lin-Manuel Miranda...

More »

Mar 6 2018

At least they didn't record the names

2018-03-06-at-least-they-didnt-record-the-names

Smith Journal recently posted an article about a box of library queries from the 1940s that was found at the New York Public Library, and it's a pretty great read—as well as a good reminder that we should all be so grateful for...

More »

Mar 5 2018

Hello Stranger, by Lisa Kleypas

2018-03-05-hello-stranger-by-lisa-kleypas

Hello Stranger, Lisa Kleypas's fourth Ravenels book, has an unexpected virtue: it makes me much fonder of Marrying Winterbourne, the second installment in the series. When I first read Marrying Winterbourne, I complained about...

More »

Mar 5 2018

Weekly Book Giveaway: Hello Stranger, by Lisa Kleypas

2018-03-05-weekly-book-giveaway-hello-stranger-by-lisa-kleypas

This week's Book Giveaway is Hello Stranger, the fourth book in Lisa Kleypas's Ravenels series. I have been underwhelmed by this series thus far, but I do want to give props to Ms. Kleypas's cover artist for fixing the sleeve situation. A full review will be posted shortly...

More »

Mar 1 2018

A steep decline

2018-03-01-a-steep-decline

According to The Guardian, a recent study of UK families indicates that the number of toddlers being read to every day has dropped by nearly 20% since 2013. The "Understanding the Children’s Book Consumer" survey is conducted annually by Nielsen Book Research, and consisted of interviews with roughly 2000 parents...

More »

Mar 1 2018

Dude. No.

2018-03-01-dude-no

We've complained about James Bennet, the editorial-page editor of The New York Times, several times on Twitter, and we're far from the only ones. Vanity Fair recently published an in-depth look at Bennet's choices for the op-ed page, and it sums up the problem with his "all-voices-matter" approach beautifully...

More »

Feb 28 2018

Shady

2018-02-28-shady

Man, EVERYTHING written about Harper Lee's lawyer has made me 10 out of 10 uncomfortable, and this latest bit of news (involving Lee's unsealed will) is no different...

More »

Feb 27 2018

Flaming hellscape

2018-02-27-flaming-hellscape

The first trailer is out for HBO's upcoming film adaptation of Ray Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451, starring two of my favorite Michaels: B. Jordan and Shannon. The movie looks good, but do either one of these actors ever play...

More »

Feb 27 2018

Not convinced, but worth a try

2018-02-27-not-convinced-but-worth-a-try

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America recently released its nominees for the 2017 Nebula Awards (which are awarded to the best sci-fi novel, novella, novelette, and short story of the year, as determined by professional authors). The Verge published the list of nominees...

More »

Feb 26 2018

The Duchess Deal, by Tessa Dare

2018-02-26-the-duchess-deal-by-tessa-dare

After dipping our romance-reading toes into a workplace romantic comedy, a historical suspense novel, and a sexy angst-fest, it's time for an old favorite: a Regency romance...

More »

Feb 26 2018

Weekly Book Giveaway: The Duchess Deal, by Tessa Dare

2018-02-26-weekly-book-giveaway-the-duchess-deal-by-tessa-dare

And the last title in our month of romance-themed Book Giveaways is Tessa Dare's The Duchess Deal, the first installment in her 'Girl Meets Duke' series. (I fully approve of that series title, by the way. Evocative!) A full review will follow shortly, but already I feel confident saying that this will appeal to fans of Julia Quinn and Suzanne Enoch...

More »

Feb 22 2018

How will he work in Jason Dohring? Only time will tell.

2018-02-22-how-will-he-work-in-jason-dohring-only-time-will-tell

And in other TV-adaptation news, Rob Thomas (the Veronica Mars and iZombie one, not the singer) is working on an adaptation of Iva-Marie Palmer's 2014 YA novel The End of the World as We Know It. The show will star Gage Golightly, and the plot sounds fun...

More »

Feb 22 2018

Wake me when they start filming

2018-02-22-wake-me-when-they-start-filming

There are signs of life for the BBC's long-dormant television adaptation of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. I'm not counting on anything (there doesn't seem to be any news on the cast, director, filming timeline, etc.), but...

More »

Feb 21 2018

"Borrowing"

2018-02-21-borrowing

Atlas Obscura recently posted an article about a potential Shakespearean source text: an unpublished work by a 16th century ambassador. Scholars are using the same anti-plagiarism software that colleges use to count the similarities between George North's 1576 treatise...

More »

Feb 20 2018

Hate to Want You, by Alisha Rai

2018-02-20-hate-to-want-you-by-alisha-rai

I have strong romance novel preferences. I only willingly read books about characters who routinely bathe. I like sex scenes to feature clearly expressed consent. And, as long-time readers of the site know, I want protagonists to pass my...

More »

Feb 20 2018

Weekly Book Giveaway: Hate to Want You, by Alisha Rai

2018-02-20-weekly-book-giveaway-hate-to-want-you-by-alisha-rai

Continuing our month of romance reviews, this week's Book Giveaway pick is Alisha Rai's Hate to Want You. It looks like it's PACKED with angst, which isn't usually my thing (I prefer romances where the protagonists seem mentally healthy enough to actually make a relationship work, even before loads of therapy). On the other hand, "nice couple meets at puppy obedience class, dates successfully, then lives happily ever after" wouldn't be a particularly scintillating read...

More »

Feb 16 2018

Not for kids, necessarily

2018-02-16-not-for-kids-necessarily

According to Deadline, Wonder director Stephen Chbosky has been chosen to direct a biopic about Dr. Seuss. The movie will reportedly focus on Geisel’s relationship with his first wife, Helen Palmer...

More »

Feb 15 2018

Killer fishie

2018-02-15-killer-fishie

About five years ago, we went through a period where I feel like we were receiving one mermaid-themed book a month. (They varied in quality, but they were all heavy on the angst.) Maybe I just fell out of the mermaid-novel-review circuit, but...

More »

Feb 14 2018

A knockoff of a knockoff of a

2018-02-14-a-knockoff-of-a-knockoff-of-a

The trailer is out for the second season of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events. I've always dismissed this series as diet Edward Gorey, but I see that they're going for a PG-rated...

More »